Poem: Allergic To Tears

*Allergic To Tears*

Salty streams of my heart
Seep through the tiniest pores
Causing blood to fill the whites
Within my eyes…

Puffiness forcing them closed…
Nose slowly running..
As if racing my tears to the ends
Of a swollen face

The winds howl against
The window pain
Tall pine trees dodging
The whipping breeze

Cutting the silence
Like my wails…
For there is nothing else I can do
When my mother’s screams

Pierce the night,
Her wounds deep to her bones
Battling over a year
With diabetic ulcers

I no longer have patience
For complainers
When I am forced to smile
To be strong

To hold down the joy
In front of strangers…
When behind doors…

These tears pump from
My system; systematically
In tune with her neuropathy

Shooting pains like knives
Stabbing through each nerve
And you tell me you know pain

Try- being allergic
Allergic to better days
For fear they’ll never come

Allergic to the fake ass people
Who don’t come around or call
When she’s at her lowest

Yet see her and act like love
Is all they ever had
When I know how much it hurts

Her…more than the sleepless
Nights tossing…turning
Pain taunting…

I’m allergic to silence
Because it holds her cries

I’m allergic to love
Because it’s filled with lies

I’m allergic to trying again
Because I hate failed attempts

I’m allergic to these tears-
Because – they never

Seem to wash away the deep
Rooted pains
That form my core

I’m allergic to poetry
because it’s an outlet that keeps
Giving…but folks
Don’t find it worthy of a career

Funny thing about that-

I rather swell from a poem then
Live life without spoken words

I lost the point of this piece
Side effect to allergies

So- I’ll end it here…somewhere
Between my heart…
And the last fallen tear

Hoping if I wipe
My face fast enough
The swelling will subside…

(C) April 2012. Leandrea “Luvleeh Poetiklocks” Hill. All Rights Reserved.

The eyes will always return to their purest state after the release- so cry out the pain.

The eyes will always return to their purest state after the release- so cry out the pain.

“Spreading Unity Through Poetry”

“I am Renea Nuru. Reborn Light.”

Leave a Reply

