A Poem: “N.I.G.G.A”

N.I.G.G.A

Answering to the call of our ancestors oppressors
Finding acronyms for a word that is still as ugly as the abuse that formulated with it
Folks emulate their passion for a culture by throwing it around
White nigga
Asian nigga
But … the black nicca is the one who mirrors their demise
See folks use that word to piss off their parents
Try to get closer to being black like me
But I just see the mockery
This word does not reflect the blood that flows inside my veins
Years of struggle, years of blaming others for lack of success
So the nigga is really anyone who fears their own greatness
So why claim a place that is less than best…
When wearing that name across your chest
Your heart beats steadily
Like running slaves in the nightfall of freedom
But their stories are lost in the ignorance
So we sit… we laugh
We uplift the nigga
But really the nigga is you.
Nobody Intellectually Gives Glorifed Anguish
A name beyond it…
So please refrain from calling me one… I know my history
I know what was done…
I live to stand above their oppression.

I literally wrote this while listening to Poetry Speaks Volumes tonight… the topic was based on the use of the word. I find it offensive and do my best not to use the word. I have respect for those who had to carry it w/o freedom to speak up against it. I’m not trying to be preachy what and how you use it is your choice- Mine just happens to be to NOT use it. Here’s why … see the link & definitions. Now sip on that!

Nigga is not just a word.

From dictionary.com
nigga definition

nicca
n.
nigger; Negro. (Streets. Nicca is pronunciation and/or spelling variant. Restricted to black to black use. White to black use is provocative.) : Hey, my nigga!

nigga

noun
(ethnic slur) extremely offensive name for a Black person; “only a Black can call another Black a nigga” [syn: nigger]

Peace Love and Poetik Enlightenment.

Luvleeh Poetiklocks

Leave a Reply

